Miner Institue Logo
The William H Miner Agricultural Research Institute

A Welcome from the Chairman of the Board

Dr. Joseph C. Burke

On behalf of the Board of Trustees of the William H. Miner Agricultural Research Institute, I welcome you to our website.

The Institute began in 1951, with support from the William H. Miner Foundation. It seeks to improve the status and success of Agriculture through research, education, and demonstration and to carry on the heritage of the early 20th Century philanthropist, William H. Miner. We currently have nine trustees and an additional 11 board members. Our Board of Trustees meets two times a year, our members once a year.

Our site is constantly being updated, so check back often for calendar events, the latest Farm Report or Stable Sheet, or newly published research. In addition, we have a wonderful history section, which is complemented by our Heritage Exhibit page. Whether you are in the equine or dairy industry or a history buff, this site has something of interest for you.

We hope you enjoy your visit. Thank you for your interest in the Institute.

Dr. Joseph C. Burke

Pictured from left to right:
Front Row: Dr. Joseph Burke, Dr. Ann Willey, Dr. Rick Grant, Richard Eakins, Geoffrey Yates
Back Row: Roderic Giltz, Dr. Frederick Woodward, Kirk Beattie, Bernard Leerkes

Board Members and Trustees:


Joseph C. Burke, Ph.D.
Miner Foundation Trustee
Chair Miner Institute

Janet Duprey
Retired New York State Assemblywoman

Richard Eakins

Steven G. Frederick
Vice President for Institutional Advancement
Clinton Community College Foundation

Roderic G. Giltz
Northern Insuring Agency

Rocklyn Giroux
Adirondack Farms

Bernard Leerkes, Jr.
Leerkes Dairy Farm

Ann M. Willey, Ph.D., J.D.
Adjunct Professor
Albany Law School

Frederick Woodward, Ph.D.
Retired Chief
Collegiate Administrator

Geoffrey Yates
Vice President
Yankee Farm Credit


John Ettling, Ph.D.
Plattsburgh State University

Carol F. Harrell
Community Volunteer

Perry J. Kurtz, Ph.D.
Retired Pharmaceutical R&D Director

Tony LaPierre
Rusty Creek Farm

Tom Overton, Ph.D.
Professor of Animal Science, Cornell University
Director, PRO-DAIRY
Associate Director, Cornell Cooperative Extension

William L. Owens, Esq.
Former U.S. Congressman,
Stafford, Owens, Piller, Murnane, Kelleher & Trombley PLLC

Brendan P. Owens, Esq
Attorney at Law
Stafford, Owens, Piller, Murnane, Kelleher & Trombley PLLC


Richard J. Grant, Ph.D.

Rachel Dutil

Kirk E. Beattie
Vice President,
Administration & Finance